TNG-Day 2

A travesty of disorganisation today. The people working there may be nice, but nothing can excuse the intense boredom of being from just before 9am till well after 12.30 without any work to do because some booklets hadn’t been finished/sorted/given to us. Our tutor handed out a few of those riddle games and a general knowledge quiz that enabled me to work out ‘Spot The Other Graduate On The Table’ and I finished my library book by 10.30am.

I had brought a sewing kit with me, but after the Health And Safety lecture yesterday warning that even some items of jewellery may be considered weapons I decided that the scissors I’d packed to cut my embroidery threads probably had best stay well hidden.

When the booklets finally arrived I was disappointed to find they were basically glossy ‘fill out’ boxes in order to create a CV. Like the one sitting next to me on the table. But I had to still fill out the information. Application forms are bad enough for making one do this over and over until one can repeat one’s marks and years of attendance in one’s head- but to fill out eight or so pages that Would Not Be Going Anywhere was quite painful.

Things picked up in the last quarter of an hour as I was allowed on the computers and managed to fill in and print off an application form;I finished the envelope just as the Horrendous Bus came to take me home.

But things are improving! Owing to the shop I already volunteer at often accepting TNG people, the minute they heard I was going on there they were all “WE’LL HAVE YOU. COME TO US!” and so that is what I will be doing. Tomorrow I shall be working there 🙂 hurray!

3 Responses to TNG-Day 2

  1. Light at the end of the tunnel… or is it a train?!

    Hopefully not this time 🙂

  2. unemployedrabbit says:

    Well at least I know whilst at the charity shop there’s no way they’ll kick me off the placement. It’s nice to be liked and wanted.

    On the other hand the man from TNG did say he would try and find me a potentially paying placement and hasn’t said two words to me since. But there’s always time.

    • potentially paying placement? Nonsense!

      There is capability of payment but its extremely rare.

      Its probably a New Deal / Work Trial combined where Jobcentre Plus pays the employer to pay you an allowance (generous but not NMW – which being on New Deal you are exempt from apparently).

      Strangely on its own New Deal and Work Trial individually are unpaid.

Leave a comment